Help me do it for myself.

Montessori in a Dene Kindergarten – Montessori in a Dene Grade One Classroom

Is summer ending already?

Posted by mrsmelva on 31/07/2010

I just returned from a short but wonderful holiday. Our housesitter’s son played with my bedroom clock while we were gone. I woke up in the dark, checked the clock and it said 1:40, so I tried to go back to sleep. I tossed and turned for a while and checked the clock again, still 1:40 – so I decided to go to the living room and try using the t.v. to put me back to sleep. When I got to the t.v. I discovered that it was actually 4:25, and still dark! Yikes that means that the days are already substantially shorter, which means that fall is coming. That also means that I need to get into gear and whip my classroom into shape. Our holiday was fantastic, it involved a manicure & pedicure with my granddaughter, and then the Calgary Stampede, Calgary Zoo, a pilgrimage to Lac Ste. Anne, traveling through the rockies and visits with family and friends. We had our granddaughter with us for part of the trip and one of our grandsons for the entire trip. Our son, daughter in law, her parents and grandparents and of course, their two kids (the aforementioned granddaughter and her brother) , traveled with us for part of the trip. It was wonderful. We all stayed at my parents home for a few days. I did a lot of thinking about my classroom and the upcoming school year, but also a lot of relaxing. My laundry is done and after I mop the floors in my house I will be ready to get back into the classroom groove. Waking up early but finding it dark means that my body clock and the sun are trying to tell me something.

strawberry-watermelon arrangement I made for my grandson's 4th birthday

Calgary tower from the van window while at a stoplight

playground challenge at Mt. Robson

another playground challenge

Berry picking - the best patches are up high

we were not alone

beautiful bush country

My grandson, my dad and I went berry picking one morning. We got a good portion of wild raspberries and a few black caps. My grandson really enjoyed the ride up the mountain and seeing the cattle ranging through the bush.

Leave a Reply

 
