Help me do it for myself.

Montessori in a Dene Kindergarten – Montessori in a Dene Grade One Classroom

Farewell to a Friend

Posted by mrsmelva on 13/04/2009

This is a difficult post to write. I need to say farewell to my friend, colleague, mentor, elder; Celina Janvier. She passed away on Good Friday. She was a wonderful teacher and taught me a lot about teaching, Dene language and Dene culture. She gave a lot to the school, the community, the church and her family. Among her many contributions was her singing in Dene, both in church and at school. She used music to teach the children in their Dene language and about their Dene culture. She translated songs for me to use with my class and volunteered her time to help me learn the songs and to come to my class and teach them to the children. I especially remember spending time with her at fish camp, and her including me with the elders to eat sucker heads when we had just gotten off the bus. She was very patient with my mistakes in trying to speak Dene and always willing to share her knowledge. Farewell, my friend, I will miss you. For all you taught me, merci cho.

Leave a Reply

 
