Help me do it for myself.

Montessori in a Dene Kindergarten – Montessori in a Dene Grade One Classroom

More Preparations

Posted by mrsmelva on 13/08/2008

Yesterday was a busy day. I painted a shelf – two coats – deep pink. The paint is old, but free and still works. The shelf was a cut down portion of a very old and cumbersome storage unit. I also played with room arrangement and spray painted the frame for a little metal shelf that I got for free by scrounging. Then I spent a lot of time emptying three rooms into the center room so that the floors could be waxed. When I went back last night to put a second coat of paint on the shelf they had already put on the first coat of wax. Several more coats were put on this morning. I spent an hour unpacking my dollar store treasures and setting up the little metal shelf with practical life activities.

Here are the two shelves, the pink one just painted and the metal one with the practical life activities. I will need to move the pink one, the original plan was to move it against the window behind it, but I decided to put the metal one there as it is narrower and won’t interfere with traffic flow as much. The pink one will go near the entrance to the room, perpendicular to the door. Playdough supplies will go on the bottom right, I am not sure what else will go on it. There are many things already in the room that could go there, plus some new things have been ordered. I moved a couple of other shelves around yesterday. Originally I had the former science center shelf where the pink one is going to go, but it is now near the tables with the metal insets on it. There will be more metal insets coming and sandpaper alphabets which will probably fill that shelf. I moved my tall shelf to a corner and brought the art center shelf out where it is more accessible to the children. I need to go back and do some more arranging and rearranging and take indidvidual pictures of the practical life activities for job cards. I will try and post them tonight or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

 
